Employee Badge Features

Employee Badge Features

All current HandyTrac Touch Standard, Premium, and Platinum online system types now have access to targeted employee alerts for Overdue and Out keys.

Linking an Employee Badge to the HandyTrac App allows on site staff access to a personalized list of checked out keys, daily summary alerts, and Overdue Key reminders.
Badge linking requires no additional website access and works with an employee's existing badge profile.
All features and settings are centrally managed by an administrative user. This keeps general key information secure while also allowing increased oversight of an employee's own information and key status.
These new features make managing keys on site easier and faster, as well as adding increased accountability to help prevent misplaced keys.

Linking a Badge

To link a badge, the employee must have an active badge in the system and the HandyTrac App must be installed on their iOS or Android device.
An administrator with proper website access must add or edit the employee badge profile. Currently, editing an employee badge link is not available in the HandyTrac App.

Creating the app link

    A user with website access must log in to the website.
    Select Employees from the menu on the left.
    Select Edit next to the employee you want to link. If you are  adding an employee⁠ , select Add Employee at the top right.
    Enable the toggle for Link HandyTrac App. This will generate a QR code that needs to be scanned by the HandyTrac App.
  • If you are adding a new employee, all badge information fields must be filled out first in order for the QR code to be generated.
  • Alert times must be set on the  Edit Alerts⁠  page before permissions can be enabled.
    Select the permissions this employee will have available in the App.
The Employee Keys Out Alert permission allows an employee to view their own current list of checked out keys at any time in the App.

Linking the app


Tap Link Employee Badge
Once the HandyTrac App is installed and opened, tap on "Link Employee Badge" at the top.
The "X" is for users to dismiss the options if they wish to only use the standard website functions. It is still available as a link at the bottom of the Sign In screen.

The App will give you the current features available for linked badges as well as a quick overview of these steps.
When you tap "Scan QR Code", the app will ask for permission to use your device's camera. This is required in order to scan the QR and make the link. It is also a required permission to use the In Field Key Identification feature.
The app will also ask for Notifications permissions during this process to allow your device to receive alerts. If permission is not granted, you will not received automated alerts about key activity.
These two permissions are required for normal app operation. No other special permissions are required.
    Scan the QR code that is displayed in the employee badge profile.
    Once the QR code is recognized, the app will then ask you to enter your PIN. This is used for verification of the badge link.
    When confirmed, you will be presented with your Dashboard, which will give you quick access to each badge feature.

Employee Badge Notifications

Badge notification time settings are configured in the main  Edit Alerts⁠  area of the website administration portal.

Overdue Keys


Employees will receive an alert when they have a key checked out for too long.
This kind of alert helps employees remain accountable and on task, while also helping to prevent key misplacement or other job delays.


Keys Out Summary


Every day at the selected time, an employee will be notified of how many keys they have checked out.
This is a great reminder that helps employees ensure their keys are returned daily and keeps keys on site and out of pockets.


Personal Keys Out List

When an Employee Badge is linked with the HandyTrac App, an employee can easily view the list of all keys they have checked out at any time.
An employee is not required to have notification permissions enabled on their device to view this list, however, they will require the "Employee Key Out" badge permission.

Using Both  Account Notifications⁠  and Badge Notifications

Users with a website sign-in are also able to link a badge to the app for notifications, but we do not recommend enabling the Badge Notifications alongside the Account Notifications. Users will receive duplicate alerts by doing so.
Managers and site users with appropriate permissions can already view key statuses and alerts with their website account, so they should prioritize managing the system overall instead of personal employee level alerts.

Removing a Badge Link

A badge can be unlinked directly in the app by selecting the "Unlink Badge" option in the App Settings. A badge can be relinked at a later time.
Alternatively, a badge link is removed when the badge is unlinked on the website, or when an employee badge is deactivated. Removing permissions will not remove the link, but no data will be sent to the app.